APC awards Hall of Fame to National Peanut Board’s Bob Parker; Sen. Chambliss, others honored for lifetime achievements

IMG 8194June 15, 2023 (Amelia Island, Fla.)—The American Peanut Council today awarded its top honors to leaders who have demonstrated significant commitment to the peanut industry. The organization presented its prestigious Hall of Fame award and four Lifetime Achievement awards at a ceremony during the annual Peanut Congress in Amelia Island, Fla.

Bob Parker received the Hall of Fame award. His career in the peanut industry spans nearly five decades and is marked by exceptional leadership and service in various roles, most recently as President and CEO of the National Peanut Board. He has worked tirelessly to improve the economic condition of U.S. peanut farmers and their families through strategic promotion of the peanut industry and groundbreaking research in peanut allergy.

“It comes as no surprise Bob Parker is receiving the highest honor the American Peanut Council bestows,” said APC Chairman-Elect Donald Chase. “The significant strides he has made throughout his peanut career will have lasting impacts for years to come.”

Individuals receiving the four lifetime achievement awards are:

  • S. Senator Saxby Chambliss (Ga.)
  • George Lovatt, peanut broker, Lovatt and Rushing
  • Victor Nwosu, plant scientist, Mars Wrigley
  • Terry Shamblin, president & CEO, American Peanut Growers Group

“All of these individuals have provided significant contributions to the U.S. peanut industry, whether through policymaking, market insight, research, or grower-owned shelling,” continued Chase. “The peanut industry owes them a debt of gratitude.”

Sen. Chambliss - A champion of farmers throughout his congressional career, Sen. Chambliss was a key player in the passage of multiple farm bills and led the fight for the separate peanut payment limit, among other legislative battles that affected peanut growers.

George Lovatt – Lovatt has served on the APC board of directors since 1982 in every officer position, including as chair in 1990. He also successfully served as head of the Statistical Task Force for APC to bring accuracy to peanut data collected and distributed by USDA.

Victor Nwosu - Nwosu has worked tirelessly to secure viable peanut varieties and research that would ensure peanut sustainability in the U.S. and throughout the world. He also spearheaded a global scientific community of researchers to deliver the first mapping of the peanut genome.

Terry Shamblin – Under Shamblin’s direction, the America Peanut Growers Group, a shelling facility owned exclusively by peanut growers in southwest Georgia and north Florida, shelled its first crop in 2003 and would become the model grower-owned sheller.

A  P  C    I  N  T  E  R  N  A  T  I  O  N  A  L

United Kingdom Canada Germany Japan Mexico

© 2023 American Peanut Council. All Rights Reserved.

The American Peanut Council does not discriminate in its programs on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, religion, age, disability, political beliefs, or marital/family status. (Not all prohibited bases apply to all programs.) Individuals with disabilities who require reasonable accommodations or alternative means of program communication (Braille, large print, audiotape, ASL, Languages other than English etc.) should contact APC for assistance at 703-838-9500.